Attractions Highlight Ballyhouras
Amazing Attractions in the Ballyhouras
Take a trip to the Ballyhoura Mountain region and experience the wild side of Ireland.
The Heritage Centre located by the lakefront in Lough Gur was fully refurbished and restored in 2013. The exhibition within provides an overview of one of Ireland’s most important archaeological sites. It is the only area in the country where you can see visible evidence of every age since Neolithic times. The Heritage Centre provides visitors with information on the surrounding sites and attractions in the local area.
Lough Gur in County Limerick, Ireland between the towns of Herbertstown and Bruff. The lake forms a horseshoe shape at the base of Knockadoon Hill and some rugged elevated countryside. Lough Gur is a shallow lake measuring 3.5 meters at its deepest level. The lake is fed from underground springs and is not free flowing. The lake and the surrounding area is known to be one of Ireland’s most important archaeological sites. Humans have lived in Lough Gur since Neolithic times. The site of Lough Gur is the only area in all of Ireland where you will see visible remains of every age of mankind throughout the centuries.
The Donkey Sanctuary
Meet the adorable donkeys at the The Donkey Sanctuary in Liscarroll – they love getting attention from new visitors! This shelter is an Irish registered charity working to improve conditions for donkeys and mules. Located in the lush Cork countryside, it is the perfect spot for a picnic and a scenic walk. The Donkey Sanctuary is open 7 days a week with free admission and free parking, well worth a trip.
Doneraile Wildlife Park
The Doneraile Wildlife Park is a beautifully landscaped 18th century estate that comprises of approximately 166 hectares. Enjoy a delightful day strolling around the grounds and seeing the deer herds. A café and playground can also be found at the park, making for a perfect family day out. In recent years the Doneraile Wildlife Park was names Ireland’s fourth-most-popular ‘free to enter’ attraction of 2016 by Fáilte Ireland.
Doneraile Court sits majestically on the landscaped Park grounds, overlooking one of the many water features created by the diversion of the Awbeg River in the 18th century.The house was built by the St Leger family circa 1645, originally the House was a 2 storey over half basement, but was extensively refurbished by the St Legers in 1725 – 1749. The refurbishment was designed by the architect Isaac Rothery, adding a third story as well as bow ends thus transforming Doneraile Court into a magnificent example of Georgian architecture. 13 generations of the St Leger family resided on Doneraile estate for over 300 years, and the refurbishment by the OPW of Doneraile Court in 2019 is a testament to this time.History was made by another well-known St Leger in 1712 when Elizabeth St Leger became the first lady Freemason in the world.Guided tours of the House are available throughout the day, where you will hear about the St Leger family The history of Doneraile estate and view the extensive Art and other collections throughout the property. Take time to visit the tea rooms located at Doneraile Court. The tea rooms offer delicious treats and many varieties of hot drinks.